Board of Trustees
Mary Graham
Rich Grosch
Bernie Rhinerson
Maria Nieto Senour
Peter Zschiesche
Board of Trustees Goals for 2016-2017
Meeting Schedule
Agenda & Minutes
Board Policies

Board Reports


Board of Trustees

The San Diego Community College District is governed by its five-member, locally elected Board of Trustees and a student board member. The five trustees are elected in even-numbered years to four-year terms by the voters of San Diego. Trustee candidates first run in district-only elections. The top two vote-getters in each district run citywide in the general election. See a map of trustee district boundaries.

Picture of The San Diego Community College District Board of Trustees
The San Diego Community College District Board of Trustees:
(from left, back row) Peter Zschiesche, Mary Graham, and (front row)
Bernie Rhinerson, Maria Nieto Senour Ph.D., Rich Grosch.

Three students (one from each college) serve a one year term filling the student trustee position on a rotating basis. The sitting student trustee has an advisory vote on the Board.

The Chancellor, the district's chief executive officer, is responsible for carrying out policies approved by the Board of Trustees.

Communicating with the Board
The Board is sincerely interested in the views of students, faculty, staff and citizens on matters affecting community colleges and continuing education in San Diego. Before bringing concerns to the Board, you are encouraged to discuss the matter with the president or dean of the college or continuing education campus involved, or the appropriate administrator at the District Office.

Correspondence to the Board of Trustees may be sent to the following address: SDCCD Board of Trustees, 3375 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108-3883. Copies of your letter will be sent to each board member.

You may also write to individual board members. These letters are not circulated to the entire board unless requested by the Board member. Click on individual names above for trustee areas and contact information.

Board Meetings
Public meetings of the Board of Trustees include opportunities for members of the public to address the Board. Regular business meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month, beginning at 4:00 p.m., unless otherwise specified on the posted agenda. Board meetings are generally held at the District Office (Charles W. Patrick Building), 3375 Camino del Rio South, Suites 235-245, San Diego, CA, 92108, unless otherwise specified on the posted agenda. Meetings are also held periodically throughout the year at the three colleges and continuing education. Special meetings may be called to discuss a limited topic.

The current schedule of regular Board meetings is posted at the District Office and also on the District's website at: An agenda containing a brief description of each item of business is posted at the District Office and on the District's website 72 hours before regular meetings and 24 hours before special meetings. Please visit the Board of Trustees agenda page
for the current Board meeting agenda and archived agendas and minutes. You may also contact the Board of Trustees office at (619) 388-6957.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, the San Diego Community College District will make every effort to honor requests for reasonable accommodations made by individuals with disabilities. If you need an accommodation, please call 72 hours prior to the scheduled meeting. (619) 388-6983. [ADA TITLE II, SEC. 202. 42 USC 12132]

Shared governance activities involve faculty, students and staff in the development of solutions to key policy and budget issues.

Find out more about the mission of the district.

Bernie Rhinerson Maria Nieto Senour Peter Zschiesche Rich Grosch Mary Graham

Copyright © 2008 San Diego Community College District
3375 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, California 92108

Stay Connected
Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon